skip navigation

2019 Lake Placid Award Winners

By Dan Witmer, 07/31/19, 1:30PM EDT


The 30th annual Lake Placid Summit Lacrosse tournament is all set to begin on Monday, August 5 at the North Elba Athletic Fields, Lake Placid Horse Show Grounds, and the Northwood School. Games continue through Sunday, August 11, with more than 250 teams playing in 26 age group divisions on 12 fields.

On Thursday, August 8, three new Lake Placid Legends will be inducted at a very special ceremony at the Intervales Lodge, located at the base of the Olympic ski jumps, across the street from the Horse Show Grounds. See here for profiles of this year’s LP Legends.

In addition to the Legends, we are honored to announce the recipients of seven various group or individual awards, who will also be celebrated at Intervales Lodge on August 8. Here is the run-down of these awards and honorees:

Dan Spillett Award (’04) – presented in loving memory to a Grand Masters participant who has shown courage and determination through his years of play at Lake Placid 

    Past winners:        2004    Mark Walsh                                            
                                        2005    Mike Fisher  
                                        2006    Paul Rose                                          
                                        2007    Al Brown                                            
                                        2008    Bob DiPuppo                                          
                                        2009    Bob Deegan                                          
                                        2010    Dave White                                            
                                        2011    Dom Starsia                          
This year’s winner: 2019    Charlie Hartigan        

Jim Muhlfelder Award (’04) – presented to a women’s division participant, someone who has been instrumental in launching women’s play at Lake Placid

Past winners:             2004    Cater Ortolano                                            
                                        2005    Lyn Reitenbach                                          
                                        2006    Rick Nelson                                          
                                        2007    Skip Spensieri                                            
                                        2008    Andi O’Connor                                          
                                        2009    Perky Nillissen                                            
                                        2010    Lucy Goodridge                                         
                                        2011    Kate Colley                            
This year’s winner: 2019    Brenda Doll

Larry Piatelli Award (’04) – presented in fond memory to a men’s lacrosse official who has been a long-time positive presence wearing the stripes at Lake Placid

Past winners:             2004    Parker Simonds 
                                         2005    Skip Spensieri                                            
                                         2006    Joe Mars                                            
                                         2007    Jim Luchsinger / Mike Onorato            
                                         2008    Wes Bachur                                            
                                         2009    Clark Mercer                                            
                                         2010    Lee Weiser                                        
                                        2011    Ted Murphy                                          
                                        2012    Curt Lingenfelter                                     
                                        2013    Greg Norris
                                        2014      Scott Fiorentino    
                                        2015      John Morgan
                                        2016      Walt Munze                
This year’s winner: 2019     Pat Jank

Travis Solomon Award (’10) – presented in memory to a player/participant who has demonstrated not only great skills, but also a traditional, respectful approach for the game

Past winners:             2010    Travis Solomon                                          
                                         2011    Roy Simmons III                                            
                                         2012    George Leveille                            
This year’s winner:  2019    Steve Chambers                        

Tom Pillsworth Award (’10) – presented to a staff member who has provided his/her services to the Lake Placid Summit Lacrosse Tournament over the course of many years

Past winners:              2010    Tom Pillsworth                                        
                                          2011     Town of North Elba Park District                       
This year’s winner:   2019    Andrea Lister

Lax All Stars “Grow The Game” Award (’18) – presented to someone who has had a significant impact on the growth of lacrosse in his/her region and has had a strong connection to the Summit Classic  

Past winners:               2018    The Queener Family                          
This year’s winner:   2019    Tri-Lakes Youth Lacrosse

The Legends ceremony will begin around 7 PM on Thursday, August 8 at the Intervales Lodge. The event is open to the public; a donation will be collected at the door.