skip navigation

Photos: Team HEADstrong Wins in First MLL Legends Game at Lake Placid

By Inside Lacrosse , 08/06/16, 10:45AM EDT


Lake Placid, NY – Team Headstrong used a 6-0 run in the final quarter to secure the lead and the 15-9 victory over Team Lead the Way in Major League Lacrosse’s first Legends Alumni Game at the 2016 Lake Placid Summit Classic. The Alumni teams were composed of approximately 40 former Major League Lacrosse players and coaches. 

The inaugural event featured back-and-forth action for the roughly 3,500 fans lining the sidelines at the Lake Placid Summit Classic field. Team Headstrong got off to an early 3-2 at the end of the first quarter. Team Headstrong extended their lead to 8-4 at the half with goals coming from scorers like Kevin Leveille, Tim Byrnes, Chris Fiore and more. Tim Goettelmann, Matt Striebel, Brent Rothfuss and Mike Regan contributed goals for Team Lead the Way. 

While the third quarter started with a Team Headstrong goal from Mike Leveille, it was all Team Lead the Way for the rest of it. Team Lead the Way scored the next five points to end the third quarter, tied 9-9. Regan tallied his second and third goals, which included a two-pointer, while Dan Hardy and Rochester Rattlers head coach Tim Soudan each scored a goal. 

The fourth quarter belonged to Team Headstrong, who scored all six goals of the quarter. Tim Byrnes tallied the first goal of the quarter before Kevin Leveille could score to add to his total. Blake Miller used a crease roll from X to score his first, and then tallied a second goal right after. Chris Fiore and John Glatzel finished the scoring for Team Headstrong in the quarter. 

The HEADstrong Foundation and Army Ranger Lead the Way Fund provided the team names for the game and were the charity recipients for the game’s effort. HEADstrong Foundation has long been a partner of MLL in their efforts to improve the quality of life for cancer patients and their families. Army Ranger Lead the Way Fund is an active duty, casualty assistance, recovery and Military transition organization whose mission is to provide ongoing support and financial assistance to the men and families of the elite Special Operations 75 th Ranger Regiment, beyond what the government and Veteran’s Affairs can offer. The Fund honors the life and legacy of SGT James J. Regan of the 75 th Ranger Regiment, who played collegiate lacrosse at Duke University. In lieu of purchased tickets, both recipients will split donations from the game’s efforts. 

Team Lead The Way included:  Sol Bliss (Rochester Rattlers),  Damien Davis (Chicago Macgine),  Harold Drumm (Bridgeport Barrage),  Michael Gabel (Chicago Machine), John Gagliardi (Long Island Lizards),  Gary Gait (Baltimore Bayhawks),  Timothy Goettelmann (Long Island Lizards),  Jamie Hanford (Baltimore Bayhawks),  Jon Hess(New Jersey Pride),  Chris Massey (Long Island Lizards),  Ryan Mollett (Rochester Rattlers),  Chris Passavia (Rochester Rattlers),  Mike Regan (Boston Cannons),  Brent Rothfuss (Rochester Rattlers),  Josh Sims (Baltimore Bayhawks),  Vin Sombrotto (Long Island Lizards),  Tim Soudan (Rochester Rattlers),  Matthew Striebel (Philadelphia Barrage),  Regy Thorpe (Rochester Rattlers), and  Nate Watkins (Denver Outaws). The alternate/Coach for Team Lead the Way is  David Jenkins.   

Team HEADstrong included:  Fredric Beardsley (Rochester Rattlers),  Gerry Byrne(Boston Cannons),  Tim Byrnes (Long Island Lizards),  Jake Coon (Rocheser Rattlers), Jake Deane (Chesapeake Bayhawks),  Kevin Dougherty (LA Riptide),  David Evans(Boston Cannons),  Chris Fiore (Long Island Lizards),  Kip Fulks (Baltimore Bayhawks), John Glatzel (Rochester Rattlers),  Dan Hardy (Rochester Rattlers),  Kevin Leveille(Rochester Rattlers),  Mike Leveille (Chicago Machine),  Sean Morris (Boston Cannons), Pat McCabe (Long Island Lizards),  Blake Miller (Bridgeport Barrage),  Shawn Nadelen(Baltimore Bayhawks),  Jack Reid (Boston Cannons),  Chris Schiller (Rochester Rattlers), and  Stephen Sombrotto (Long Island Lizards). The alternate/Coach for Team Headstrong is  Frank D'Agistino.