skip navigation

MLL Legends Game to be Broadcasted From Lake Placid Tonight

By Inside Lacrosse , 08/05/16, 10:45AM EDT



Lake Placid, NY - Major League Lacrosse plans to deliver the league’s first Legends Alumni Game event at the 2016 Lake Placid Summit Classic. 

The inaugural event will take place at North Elba Athletic Field #1 Friday, August 5, at 5 p.m. EST, as part of the Lake Placid Summit Classic tournament festivities. The event is free to the public. The game broadcast will also be made available on LAX Sports Network.

“It’s great there is an event that brings together some of our former MLL stars,” said David Gross, Commissioner of Major League Lacrosse. “These former players have been tremendous ambassadors for our league and the sport. We are excited to have them be a part of this inaugural alumni game.”

“Having been involved in the Lake Placid Summit Classic for 26 years and the MLL for 11, and caring for each dearly, it’s been a dream of mine to find a way to combine the two,” said LPSC Director, Kevin Leveille. “The MLL Legends Alumni Game will be a great showcase of Major League Lacrosse through 40 true professional pioneers, lacrosse legends and long-time Lake Placid Summit Classic participants. On a weekend where a lot of the lacrosse community is tuned into Lake Placid and tuned out of everywhere else, it will be great to pull Major League Lacrosse into the focus.”

The Lake Placid Summit Classic was established in 1990 with the idea of playing lacrosse in a beautiful place. In year one the event comprised of 7 teams with play over two days. 2016 marks the 27th year of the event and over 7 days, over 250 teams broken out by 18 different divisions, will come to Lake Placid to compete. Boys, girls, men and women all participate and ages range from 15 to 60+. The LPSC is a celebration of lacrosse and camaraderie.

In the tradition of both LPSC and MLL heritage both alumni players will take the field for a couple of charitable causes that are near and dear to the lacrosse community’s heart. Both HEADstrong Foundation and Army Ranger Lead the Way Fund will be the charity recipients for the game’s efforts. HEADstrong Foundation has long been a partner of MLL in their efforts to improve quality of life for cancer patients and their families. By fulfilling a promise made to HEADstrong founder, Nicholas Colleluori, that others would benefit the life that he lived. Army Ranger Lead the Way Fund is an active duty, casualty assistance, recovery and Military transition organization whose mission is to provide ongoing support and financial assistance to the men and families of the elite Special Operations 75th Ranger Regiment, beyond what the government and Veteran’s Affairs can offer. The fund honors the life and legacy of SGT James J. Regan of the 75th Ranger Regiment, who played collegiate lacrosse at Duke University. In lieu of purchased tickets, both recipients will be on hand at the tournament all week long and donations are encouraged, especially for those attending the game.

The rosters:

Team Lead The Way will include: Sol Bliss (Rochester Rattlers), Damien Davis (Chicago Macgine), Harold Drumm (Bridgeport Barrage), Michael Gabel (Chicago Machine),John Gagliardi (Long Island Lizards), Gary Gait (Baltimore Bayhawks), Timothy Goettelmann (Long Island Lizards), Jamie Hanford (Baltimore Bayhawks), Jon Hess(New Jersey Pride), Chris Massey (Long Island Lizards), Ryan Mollett (Rochester Rattlers), Chris Passavia (Rochester Rattlers), Mike Regan (Boston Cannons), Brent Rothfuss (Rochester Rattlers), Josh Sims (Baltimore Bayhawks), Vin Sombrotto (Long Island Lizards), Tim Soudan (Rochester Rattlers), Matthew Striebel (Philadelphia Barrage), Regy Thorpe (Rochester Rattlers), and Nate Watkins (Denver Outaws). The alternate/Coach for Team Lead the Way is David Jenkins.  

Team HEADstrong will include: Fredric Beardsley (Rochester Rattlers), Gerry Byrne(Boston Cannons), Tim Brynes (Long Island Lizards), Jake Coon (Rocheser Rattlers),Jake Deane (Chesapeake Bayhawks), Kevin Dougherty (LA Riptide), David Evans(Boston Cannons), Chris Fiore (Long Island Lizards), Kip Fulks (Baltimore Bayhawks),John Glatzel (Rochester Rattlers), Dan Hardy (Rochester Rattlers), Kevin Leveille(Rochester Rattlers), Mike Leveille (Chicago Machine), Sean Morris (Boston Cannons),Pat McCabe (Long Island Lizards), Blake Miller (Bridgeport Barrage), Shawn Nadelen(Baltimore Bayhawks), Jack Reid (Boston Cannons), Chris Schiller (Rochester Rattlers), and Stephen Sombrotto (Long Island Lizards). The alternate/Coach for Team Headstrong is Frank D'Agistino.