skip navigation


By Major League Lacrosse, 04/03/17, 10:15AM EDT


Second game in league history to be hosted at Lake Placid Summit Classic

BOSTON (March 31, 2017) – Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier outdoor professional lacrosse league, announced today the second annual Legends Alumni Game will take place on Friday, August 4 at 5 p.m. ET during the 2017 Lake Placid Summit Classic (LPSC) in Lake Placid, NY. The game will be broadcast live on Lax Sports Network. 

“This event was a tremendous success last year in showcasing our former stars,” MLL Commissioner David Gross said. “We are pleased to be working with Summit Lacrosse Ventures for a second year, and hopefully, for many years to come.”

Established in 1990, the LPSC started with seven teams competing in a two-day tournament. 2017 will mark the event’s 28th year with approximately 250 teams competing over seven days. The teams consist of boys, girls, men and women with ages ranging from 15 to over 60. About 15,000 people will be in Lake Placid including participants and their friends and family. 

All MLL alumni are encouraged to register for the Legends Game. In order to qualify, players must be an alumnus of MLL and agree to participate in the 2017 LPSC. A Player Selection Committee will select the 40 players for the 2017 game. All players can register at no cost at the LPSC registration page

“We are very excited to host the MLL Legends Alumni Game for the second consecutive year during the 28th Annual Lake Placid Summit Classic,” said Kevin Leveille, Brand and Event Director for Summit Lacrosse Ventures. “The interest surrounding the game last year was very positive all around and I know that many players and fans will be excited for round two this August.”

Proceeds from the event will benefit the HEADstrong Foundation and Army Ranger Lead the Way Fund. To learn more about the event’s charitable partners, see the links below. 

HEADstrong Foundation

Army Ranger Lead the Way Fund 

About Major League Lacrosse

Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston. MLL has continued to lead the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports over the past 17 years. The league is made up of nine teams: The Atlanta Blaze, Boston Cannons, Charlotte Hounds, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Denver Outlaws, Florida Launch, New York Lizards, Ohio Machine and Rochester Rattlers.

About the Lake Placid Summit Classic

Established in 1990, Lake Placid Summit Classic (LPSC) is one of the Nation’s oldest and most highly attended events with 250 teams participating in 2017. The weeklong event is made up of 13 different divisions of play across boys, girls, men and women, and, participant ages range from 15 to 60 and over. LPSC is owned and operated by Summit Lacrosse Ventures, LLC.